Routine on Spring Break (and any other trip)

efriends-blogging-my-daily-routine-oCSTLa-clipartVacation, for me, tends to mean a break from schedules and the every day tasks that make up my daily existence. Sure there may be plans during trips I take, but otherwise it is a break from routine.

 

And that can be a dangerous thing.

I have had a sense of well-being, productivity, and all around clarity with some of the new habits I have brought into my life lately. Things like:

  1. My daily ritual of meditation
  2. My daily lemon water with Braggs apple cider vinegar in the morning before breakfast and 1 hour before bed at night.
  3. My daily workout (yes, even us personal trainers can get bogged down with life and not make time to exercise as much as we should)
  4. My daily use of essential oils at work and before going to bed
  5. Multiple alarms as reminders (take vitamins, work duties, pick up the kids, etc.)

Notice the common denominator: DAILY. When these things are in place and part of my day-to-day routine, I notice it. And my brain notices it.

brainconnectionI can think clearer, I have more energy, I don’t forget things (as much), and I am just a nicer person to be around. If I am on my schedule and not worrying about all of the things floating around in my head, I am more patient and generally more pleasant.

So what to do? Keep on my schedule as best as possible. This morning, I was up at 6am before everyone else, made my lemon water, and proceeded to do a 10 minute morning meditation with my insight-timer app.

I feel better, and feel like the day is going to be a good one. This is because I have prepared my mind for what is to come, and put a bit of my daily rituals into practice on vacation.

I will say, it is nice not having all of my alarms set.

Now where did I put those vitamins?…

Leave a Reply

